Welcome to the Wildlife Veterinary Section of the Wildlife Disease Association

News and Announcements
March 2018:

Wildlife Veterinary Section Travel Award for WDA Annual Meeting

: to provide travel support ($500 US) for a wildlife professional from a less financially advantaged country with the aim of increasing global participation at the annual meeting and providing opportunities for professionals from developing countries.


Eligibility qualifications

1)      Must be a current WDA and Wildlife Veterinary Section member.

2)      Must be a citizen of a country identified by the World Bank as having a low income or lower middle income economy.

3)      Must have an abstract accepted for oral presentation at the upcoming Wildlife Disease Association (WDA) Annual Meeting.
4)  This award is for individuals who do not qualify for a student award (as offered by WDA or AAWV). 

Application process and form

October 2016:
Please read "Notes from the Chair".

March 2016:
Updated WVS ByLaws

LinkedIn Group for Wildlife Veterinary Section - WDA
Join, post, ask questions, provide opinions, … etc

Starting thinking of items for the next newsletter: 

If you’d like to provide wildlife veterinary-related stories and/or pictures for the next newsletter, please send items to our Newsletter Editor, Dr. Nina Schoch  AdkWildVet@verizon.net
In particular, we’re looking for some good photos of:
•            wildlife veterinarians/wildlife veterinary professional working on animals,
•            an interesting wildlife disease case, 
•            and a “ID this disease” cases.
•            anything else you think might be of interest to WVS members.
Officers and Board Members

Officers of the Wildlife Veterinary Section

Chairperson         Anne Justice-Allen          ajustice-allen@azgfd.gov
Secretary  Ginger Stout    gingermstout@gmail.com
Treasurer  Nancy Boedeker    boedekern@si.edu
Editor   Claire Butkus    clairebutkus1@gmail.com
Student Rep.   Nina Schoch    bschoched@verizon.net

2014-2016 Officer biographies

Advisory Board of the Wildlife Veterinary Section

Gerardo Acosta-Jamett        Gerardo.acosta@uach.cl 
Mark W. Atkinson   matkinson@wcs.org
Marc Cattet    marc.cattet@usask.ca 
Walt Cook    wcook@cvm.tamu.edu 
Cindy Driscoll   cdriscoll@dnr.state.md.us 
Colin Gillin    colin.m.gillin@state.or.us 
Sonia M. Hernandez    shernz@uga.edu 
Clay Hilton    clayton.hilton@tamuk.edu 
Chris Walzer   chris.walzer@vetmeduni.ac.at