About the Tom Thorne and Beth Williams Memorial Award

Tom Thorne and Beth Williams were highly influential and revered members of the WDA. Their dedication to wildlife health and conservation, many contributions to WDA, mentorship, scientific acumen, and friendship and love of life were an inspiration to all. Their tragic death in 2004 left a huge void in the WDA. To help commemorate their lives and contributions to WDA and AAWV, an award was created in their name. For more on Tom and Beth click here.

The Award is presented in acknowledgement of either an exemplary contribution or achievement combining wildlife disease research with wildlife management policy implementation or elucidating particularly significant problems in wildlife health. 

Click here for information on the Tom Thorne and Beth Williams Memorial Award Nomination Guidelines.

Tom Thorne and Beth Williams Memorial Award Recipients

Richard Kock
 2020 Tom Thorne and Beth Williams Memorial Award Winner 

Award Winners

If applicable, click on recipient name to view more information about the winner.

Year Recipient Affiliation
2020 Richard Kock Royal Veterinary College
2019 Billy Karesh EcoHealth Alliance
2018 Lisa Wolfe Colorado Division of Wildlife
2017 Carol Meteyer & David Blehert
United States Geological Survey

Lee Skerratt, Lee Berger
& Rick Speare

One Health Research Group at James Cook University 
2015     Ted Leighton Canadian Wildlife Health Cooperative
2014 John Fischer Southeastern Cooperative Wildlife Disease Study
2013 Not Awarded
2012 Ian K. Barker University of Guelph
2011 Jonna A.K. Mazet University of California-Davis
2010 David A. Jessup California Department of Fish and Game
2008 Gary A. Wobeser University of Saskatchewan
2007  Michael W. Miller      Colorado Division of Wildlife